Monthly action plans

I finally made my new year’s monthly action plans bucket! It’s a mouthful to say, but I love it.

I was inspired by a bucket my sister found on pinterest last week. I actually found a jar at Michael’s for about $3.00, and I was easily able to slip scrapbooking paper inside the container. I’d been really nervous about whether I would find a jar/container that I could get a 12×12 piece of paper fully around it, but with this, I had about an inch to spare.

What’s really great about it is that the paper  is interchangable, which I don’t think is the case for the one on pinterest. I bought two different paper designs and ultimately decided on this one, not only because I love the word love, but also because the black stickers would show up better. And thankfully pen worked quite well on the clothespin! I’d tried a thin Sharpie marker first, but that bled, so I’m glad I found something that worked.

So without further adieu, the bucket:

Like I mentioned earlier this week, the goal for my new year’s action plans was to find things that would enhance my life, not leave me feeling like a miserable failure. My bucket has 10 clothespins reflecting things I’d like to do each month, although I just ended up adding two clothespins (#11 and 12) that are about half the size of the one in the photo:

  1. Read 1 book (ideally more, but you’ve got to start somewhere, right?)
  2. Try a new recipe
  3. Take on a new craft project
  4. Volunteer (visiting my adopted grandmother could count, but I’m hoping to go beyond that each month)
  5. Meditate
  6. Add to my quote journal (love quotes but I’ve barely even touched the fabulous journal I have for writing down memorable ones…)
  7. Call my parents (need to start getting away from email and embracing the phone)
  8. Make time for me (take an evening or day to spend however I choose — crafting, reading, writing)
  9. Put money into my savings account
  10. Budget/summarize spending (time to cut down on the amount of money I’m spending on caffeine…)
  11. Call the middle sister
  12. Call the little sister

Like I mentioned, I added the two smaller clothespins after I took the photos. I was initially going to do a “Call sisters” clothespin along with the rest, but it ran into the Action Plan wording. Plus if scheduling didn’t work out to where I could only chat with one sister, could I count it as a completed goal? Too many ‘what if…’ questions came to mind, but I wanted to make sure they were a monthly goal since they’re my girls and I want to make sure I’m making more of an effort to chat with them on a regular basis. So I compromised, and it still stayed an even number. Phew.

While there are still a few other over-arching goals I’m hoping to accomplish in 2012 that aren’t on this bucket, I figure this will keep me accountable or at least remind me to have a life outside of work and responsibilities. My workout log is set and now my action plan bucket is finished. Definitely ready for the new year, albeit a few days late.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

