Learning from the past

I embarked on a big project today. Actually, not so much a project, per say. I mostly just wanted to clean my apartment a bit before the new year. I’m one of those weird people who loves the idea of a new year, so I wanted to start it off on the right foot. Plus I was going to have to unpack and do laundry at some point, so why not with my free day?

That’s what brought on this big cleaning/organizing/throwing crap away endeavor. Way back in June (so far back that I didn’t even bother trying to search for it to link it…) I talked about cleaning out the clutter on my desk and in my closet. I felt like I had too much, most of which I didn’t use. I successfully widdled down my stuff, for lack of a better word. I was feeling great and was well on my way to living simply.

Six months later, and it’s like I was back at square one. My closet is once again full of clothes I wear once in a blue moon and my desk became my most accessible shelf (not that it was really accessible once I’d piled it with crap from what I brought back from home…). It was overwhelming to even walk into the room, just as it was six months ago.

So, I brewed a big pot of coffee (still in love with my coffee bar!) and got to work. I’ve taken out three trash bags (which is pretty substantial, considering I’m one person), made a run to the recycling center, filled four bags to take to the Salvation Army and I’ve actually got my laptop on my desk because there’s now room. It feels de-cluttered and simple once again.

There’s still work to be done in the closet, and I’m willing to admit that. There were still some shirts I was able to talk myself into keeping, so I’ve decided to try something I saw on pinterest. As I wash clothes and hang them back up, I’m going to reverse the hanger so I can visibly see what I’m wearing and what I’m not. I figure each month (it can go on a clothes pin for my monthly goals bucket!!) I can assess what I’m wearing and what I’m not. It should help me keep my closet in check so I’m not back at square one.

Now that I’ve spent the last 6 hours organizing, sorting, pitching stuff, cleaning and drinking coffee, I’m ready to start the new year. After I shower and indulge in a few traditional Twilight Zone episodes, of course.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

