Crafting craze

It’s hard to believe that Christmas is already over. Like it was after Thanksgiving, it’s hard to get back into the swing of things — even moreso now that getting life back in order means taking down all my cute holiday decorations. But I’ve got a few tricks up my sleeve for new things I can do around my apartment to make it seem just as homey and cozy. I may be able to finish one project this weekend, so pictures will surely follow.

As promised, I also wanted to post a photo (albeit not a great one) of another Christmas gift I crafted. It’s a shadow box for my mom based on something I saw on pinterest. It was relatively inexpensive, and I had leftover sand and seashells to put a jar in my office as well. The sand did start leaking out of the  shadow box, but it wasn’t anything my handy dandy hot glue gun couldn’t fix.

Now that my Christmas crafts are done, I’ve got a few more on the docket. I talked a few weeks ago about making a visual reminder of my new year’s resolutions/action plans/whims. Instead I found something even better. Actually, the middle sister did after joining pinterest. Behold:

I’m in love. I’ve been looking forward to making this since I spotted it, so it’s definitely at the top of my list for this weekend. Since I stick to monthly goals, each month I’m going to put up the clothes pins for things I want to accomplish that month – read a book, try a new recipe, etc. Then when I accomplish that item, the pin goes in the bucket. Can’t wait! I’ve got random things written on scraps of paper here and there of what my monthly goals are, but this weekend I’ll sit down and actually compile that list. Hopefully my bucket turns out half as cute as this one!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

