Christmas traditions

In an effort to not be so disgusted by eating habits post-holiday, we opted to make fewer Christmas goodies this year. We couldn’t not make them, though. The dogs would have been so disappointed.

How Kona ended up with flour on her face, we don’t know. It goes without saying, though, that both dogs were fixated on us while we were cooking.

Initially we were just going to make waffle cookies since it’s a holiday tradition and super easy to make. This recipe is probably the closest I could find to my mom’s, and while they don’t look all that delightful or even pretty, they’re stellar. And you can’t go wrong with chocolate chip or sugar cookies either, which were eventually decorated a bit.

And in a not-so-Holiday tradition, we also tried making Sangria. I don’t have the recipe my sister used, but she says it’s “basically a sophisticated jungle juice.” We used some type of cinnamon rum to make it Christmasy. I may do more searching and make my own in the next few months since I am a Sangria fan, but this wasn’t a bad start at all.

Have I mentioned I love holidays? I’ll focus on the gym later this week…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

