More Christmas cheer

Before heading home for the holidays (where I’ll undoubtedly do more baking), I also wanted to try a few new recipes with a friend. We settled on butterscotch gingerbread cookies. In some ways, it felt like we cheated a bit. The recipe just calls for butterscotch pudding mix, so we didn’t mess with butterscotch chips or anything like that. I’m betting it would have made it a bit more tasty — not that it was bad. They just tasted more like cinnamon than butterscotch.

We didn’t decorate the cookies (mostly because it was already after 10 and I didn’t think I’d have the patience for it) but it was still a cute snack. And notice the coffee mug? It was a Christmas present. Coffee and dogs. Need I say more?

After we enjoyed our cookies, we finished up the second Christmas treat we were making. After seeing how cool it looked, we’d also decided to try peppermint bark. In some ways it felt like we were cheating since it’s really only three ingredients, and thus doesn’t really seem “homemade.” At least not in the sense that cookies can be homemade. But alas, it was still enjoyable and pretty.

At the end of the evening we agreed that while neither recipe is one that we consider a must-have next year, it was still fun. And I’m sure I’ll have more opportunities to make Christmas goodies once I’m home. Can’t wait!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

