Cooking for one

I’ve got this terrible mentality where I tend to think of cooking as a big production. Part of it could be because I tend to cook the more fun and delicious meals with friends and family. But then it’s not just a simple dinner for one – it’s a main entrée, a complementary side or two, and probably dessert to enjoy

This doesn’t bode well for just me making dinner, particularly when I’m not a huge fan of leftovers.

Tonight I decided to break the mold.

I was in a time crunch and had just under an hour to make and eat dinner before rushing to zumba. I’m trying not to eat as many processed foods and I’m also trying to not make carbs the main focus of my meals (although I slightly failed in that regard tonight).

In comes quinoa. And for those who have followed my blog, quinoa is something that’s been featured in a couple recipes after a friend of mine convinced me to try it and incorporated it into our meals again and again. (Through those previous posts you’ll also see what I mean about cooking being a big production for me…)

Tonight I decided to try a variation of the chickpea quinoa salad. It actually became half chickpea, half risotto with what I ended up throwing in there, but it was great nonetheless. And the surprisingly ingredient that pulled it all together and made it taste amazing? Lime juice.

Weird, right? Even I did a double take and only put in half the recommended serving. It’s worth it, though.

I couldn’t tell you all the spices I threw in or recreate it exactly, but the primary ingredients were the quinoa and chickpeas mixed with tomatoes, green onions, garlic, shallots, and sautéed mushrooms (learned how to do it about a year ago and I can’t go back to canned mushrooms anymore). I also topped it with feta cheese, which was another great flavor.

The best part? It was ready in 25 minutes and I made it to zumba in time without feeling gross for eating a hearty, processed meal. It was just right. Slowly but surely I’ll teach myself that cooking doesn’t have to be a big productive. It may still warrant pictures, though…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

