Aftermath of relaxation

This past weekend was probably the most relaxed I’ve been since I finished school and got to spend two weeks on vacation before starting my big girl job.

Following my amazing dinner Friday night that I already blogged about, Saturday I had the opportunity to participate in a quiet day in St. Louis. Sounds weird, right? Even I’ll admit that it is, although it’s also right up my alley. It’s essentially a day where a facilitator will tell a story or present interesting quotes before posing deep questions for people to reflect on for 30-45 minutes. I spent most of the day curled up next to a fireplace writing in a journal.

I’d attended the quiet day last year and absolutely loved it. This year was no different. I even went with one of my mentors who went with me last year. It’s fantastic to get away from all the stresses/responsibilities/obligations and just sit with my thoughts for more than two seconds. My mind wasn’t racing will a dozen different things and I wasn’t worried about what’s was coming up next or what my plans for the evening, next day or next week were. It was just what I needed. Then, instead of having a wild Saturday night, I crashed by 9:30 and got 11 solid hours of sleep. Waking up on Sunday I felt completely refreshed. Pair with a pot of coffee, I was completely content.

There has been one downfall to my relaxing weekend, though. For the life of me, I can’t seem to be productive. Now that I’ve found this zen place (okay, that’s a stretch but I am less go-go-go), it’s hard to get back in the swing of things. Even armed with coffee I stare at projects and don’t have the gusto to multi-task that I normally do. I’m not going a million miles an hour, which is nice, but I also feel like it’s counterproductive.

It could just be that it’s that time of year, though. And thankfully a week from tomorrow, I get to venture back to South Dakota for more relaxation and family time. Perhaps a few more days of not being my anal go-go-go self might not be such a bad idea.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

