Reality check

In the midst of a busy week, I decided to trash (not literally, though) my to-do list for the evening. Instead I’ll be sitting in my apartment, admiring my Christmas tree (best Black Friday purchase ever!) and trying to get caught up on my personal life. I’m definitely in need of it tonight.

I was thinking on my drive home from work today that I need to get back to blogging – and not just the writing portion. I want to get back to my happiness project and focusing on simplifying my life. It feels like I’ve been go-go-go since I got back from Thanksgiving break (all of three days ago…) and I don’t like that feeling.

Particularly after being home for a few days (glorious!), I realized that lately I’ve let my life become a list of obligations and responsibilities. I’m young, healthy, and finally out of school. Shouldn’t I do something interesting or relaxing with my free time? That’s where my happiness project was supposed to come in handy.

So, once I get through the week, it’s back to the drawing board with my happiness project. I went back to my original document (the one I drafted way back in August) and December was all about being in the present — not focusing on to-do lists or future plans. Instead I just want to enjoy the month. I absolutely love the holiday season (which is why I’m sitting next to my tree instead of crawling into bed) and what better time to soak up all the excitement and happiness?

And naturally, I had to find a quote to inspire my December happiness project.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

