Doing nothing

I was reading a magazine last night (glorious!) and on the very last page was this single quote:

We talk about the time we spend sitting, thinking and breathing in a guilty way, as if the absence of action implies a lack of accomplishment. But doing nothing is doing something. By emptying your head of your usual to-dos, you create space for new ideas and experiences. Your mission this month: Be still. You’ll build the launch pad for your next adventure.

The last part is a bit over the top even for me, but I like the general message. Three nights this week my plans were rearranged. Each night I thought, “Yes! A night just for me to relax!” But did I? No. Instead I willed myself to the gym, tried to finish a project for my side job, made a list of things I needed to accomplish at work and tried to be productive until I put my tired body to bed.

It made me think of a part in Eat Pray Love where the author talks about how our weeks are go-go-go, and then by the time the weekend rolls around, we’re so tired we just end up zoning out in front of the television. How does one really relax? What makes you feel rejuvenated?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Doing nothing

  1. I think the definition of relaxation really depends on the person. I know people who find running relaxing. I, personally would rather gouge out my eyeballs and beat them like a pinata than run a mile (not really, but you get the idea). So I believe that you are correct in saying that doing nothing doesn’t necessarily mean you are relaxing. I guess that since so many people consider doing nothing relaxing, society has just sort of made doing nothing…relaxing…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

