Starting November early

After yesterday, I think I’m pretty well geared up for November and my month of gratitude and  giving thanks.

November’s a month that I’ve been excited for on my happiness project. Not only that, but I’m just excited for the month in general. In 25 days, the three sisters will be home (which is really exciting since the little sis hasn’t flown home for the last two Thanksgivings) and the parents will undoubtedly have a house full of noise (I don’t have an inside voice at home), rowdy dogs and traditions. Needless to say, I’m counting down.

Yesterday, though, things were really put into perspective for me. The organization I work for is part of the Missouri Interagency Council on Homelessness, so yesterday we got to spend the day helping with Project Homeless Connect. It was a really great reality check in that because of the nature of my job, I often get caught up in the data. I’m looking for trends and commonalities, producing reports and monitoring for data quality. But really, these aren’t just numbers. They’re people.

On a personal level the day was also overwhelming. I couldn’t even imagine going through what some of these people have. As a guide, I got to walk people through the event and make sure they got all the services they needed. It was heartbreaking to hear their stories, to know that in some ways I couldn’t even come close to relating to them. It was humbling, moving, inspiring, heartbreaking, the whole gamut.

Once I got home, I actually had to call my parents and thank them for all they’ve provided me with and done. Over the years people have jokingly told me that I live(d) in a bubble. But you know what? I like that. I appreciate that I got to have a relatively carefree and innocent childhood. I never had to worry about whether there was food on the table or where I would sleep at night. I’ve had two supportive parents and two amazing sisters with me every step of the way. I’m blessed in so many ways, and I never want to lose sight of that.

That’s the first entry in my gratitude journal, which I’ve been planning to do in November for quite some time. I know it’s not quite November, but there’s no time like the present. I’m going all out for my month of gratitude and giving thanks.

November is definitely going to be a great month.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

