Little reminders

I have an adopted grandmother through the Boone County Council on Aging. She’s had some health issues in the last few weeks and I finally got a chance to see her last night. Although I mentioned a few posts ago that it’s one of my regular “tasks” on a Sunday, I really do love visiting with her. She’s witty, intelligent and wonderfully kind. I also love that she used to be an English professor, so she’s always recommending books and authors (and giving me awesome side stories/drama about the authors or her experience in learning about them).

Last night she’d asked me where my love for English and writing began. While I’ve always loved to write, I’ve been so fortunate to have awesome mentors along the way. This lady got me started with journalism in 8th grade, which shaped the rest of my education/career path. My 10th grade English teacher taught me to write well and find my own voice. And my AP English teacher, while he gave me my first B in an English class (which he never heard the end of), taught my favorite class in high school by far and was the reason I pursued my degree in English.

(In thinking about it, I also just realized those three teachers are rather sarcastic….All my favorite professors/teachers are, actually. Very interesting… I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that sarcasm is basically a second language in my fam…).

Between the conversation with my adopted grandmother and my 8th grade teacher’s post about passion, I’ve been sentimental and reflective. Writing was and still is my passion, and through a series of mentors and internships and educational opportunities, I ended up working with data and research. And it’s almost humorous to me that my excitement about data isn’t a secret to the people and agencies that I work with. I’m definitely the data girl, but you know what? I don’t think I’d want it any other way.

I love when I’m reminded that life has a funny way of working out.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Little reminders

  1. I am offended!!! Sarcasm merely a second language???!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

