Mexican cooking venture

The urge to cook struck again. And by that I mean I got bored with my routine pasta, soup and fish and rice, and my old roommate was up for cooking and Modern Family.

I’ve been wanting to attempt fish tacos for awhile, but in the past fish tacos haven’t been something I’ve absolutely loved. Last night my old roommate and I decided to be adventurous and attempted beer battered fish tacos with homemade salsa. It was paired with a side of quinoa and black beans and homemade tortilla chips, which were actually an impromptu afterthought made with no recipe.

Let me just say: yum-my! I’m not a big onion fan and I was hesitant about the fish in tacos, but everything paired together was an awesome combination. Not that you can really go wrong with avocado, tomatoes and lots of cilantro. Plus I got to have a proud moment in making my own salsa. My mom is the queen of making salsa and the torch has been passed on to the middle sister. I primarily just leave the salsa-making up to them, but given I’m not actually when it’s prime time for making salsa, it’s kind of a no-win situation.

And naturally, the meal wasn’t complete without dessert. We made an insanely quick, perfect-for-one coffee cake. It looks much prettier on the website and wasn’t exceptional, but for a dessert made in less than 5 minutes with no real effort? I’ll take it.

With all this good (and relatively healthy!) food, I wish my urge to cook came more often.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

