Starting the week

This weekend I gave myself exactly what I needed: me time.

Growing up, Sundays were always family days. Over time Sundays became a frantic day of homework and trying to get my life together before the start of another week. Even now I schedule away my Sundays with my side job, visiting my adopted grandmother and trying to get ready for another week. Frankly, trying to cram so much into my Sundays isn’t really a great way to start the week.

Today I decided to postpone those responsibilities and instead focus on me. I got the car wash I’ve been putting off for a couple months, the haircut I’ve been putting off for a few weeks and took the clothes I weeded out of my closet way back in July. I caught up with friends, got out on the trail in this gorgeous weather and spent way more money than I should. My apartment has a new, fresh fall scent and I feel way more at peace with life.

While I still crossed things off my long-standing, imaginary to-do list, it was nice not to have to feel guilty for taking time out of my week to do those things. I wish that’s how more of my weeks could start.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

