Confession

I’m almost ashamed to admit it but half-figured that it would happen. Two and a half days into my detox, I stopped.

My downfall? Chipotle. And missing coffee. The past three days I just kept thinking of the quote from Letterman (although we all know I’m a Conan fan…): “Way too much coffee.  But if it weren’t for the coffee, I’d have no identifiable personality whatsoever.”

That’s how I felt for three days. No caffeine left me feeling almost unresponsive. I didn’t have my usual gusto in taking on projects or even socializing. Not only that, but I was in bed more than an hour before I normally am during the week. I just couldn’t get myself to stay up any later. It’s probably a sign that I’m a bit too dependent on caffeine, but there are worse things, right?

I’m happy to report that while I’m back together with coffee, I’m trying to limit my consumption a bit. Today I stopped after two cups, and that’s all I really needed to dive back into my work projects. I think I’d just gotten into the habit of refilling my coffee cup throughout the day instead of having water.

I suppose if nothing else, my limited time with detoxing did get me to make a few lifestyle changes. I’ll take it as a success.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Confession

  1. I have to say, I read/love all of your blogs! Keep it going!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

