Traveling buddy

What a week/weekend!

Last Wednesday I flew to Washington D.C. for a conference and a few days of site-seeing. The conference was great and I think it gave me a better perspective and direction about what to do here in Missouri. It was two days where we focused on – wait for it – data! How could I not enjoy it?

And who else should happen to be in D.C. at the same time? The little sister. Not only that, but she ended up staying in the same hotel as me.What are the odds? Staying up until 2 or 3 in the morning probably wasn’t my best interest, but sometimes you just need a good sisters chat.

Being in D.C. also gave me the chance to catch up with an old friend. Miss Heidi is easily one of my favorite people, and what I really love is that a year or two can pass without us seeing each other and we’re still able to pick up right where we left off.  She’s also one of the few people who likes life chats as much as me, which is definitely an added bonus.

(I feel like I’m starting to sound like an informercial here – “but wait, there’s more!”)

It was also great to wander around D.C. and see new sites. It’s awesome to take in all the history and just get lost in the moment. Definitely a worthwhile and memorable trip.

Now that I’m back and unpacked (a miracle in and of itself), I’m trying to take care of me. My co-worker did a detox diet a few months ago that she really liked, so this week I’ve decided to give it a try. Tonight I made vegetable soup, which is one of the five lunch options.

At this point I probably couldn’t even tell you what’s in the soup. I started with a basic recipe of potatoes, carrots and celery but ended up going way off grid, scouring my kitchen for any other vegetables that might be good in the soup. I’m actually really impressed with how it turned out. Let’s just hope I’m equally impressed when I have it for lunch tomorrow.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

