Enjoying October

I realized about halfway through the day yesterday that it’s now October. For some reason it instantly re-energized me. I love flipping over to a new month in my calendar and starting a new Excel worksheet to log my miles. I love the feeling of a fresh start.

That excitement lasted all of 20 minutes when it dawned on me that I didn’t have solid or even interesting goals for October. I have November and December mapped out, but October was a month I’d struggled with in terms of planning. Apparently the inspiration for a theme or even goal never came, so I’m struggling.

In some ways, I want to combine some of my August and September goals. The weather is gorgeous, the trees are beautiful and my life is slowing down at least a little. I love that it now feels like I can turn over a new leaf and slow my life down, which were probably lofty themes these last two months.

I also want to start capturing my life more through photos and writing. When I was walking on the trail yesterday, I looked around and thought about my post and resolve from back in July about enjoying life in the present. I’m getting better at it, but I need to be more serious about it. It won’t quite be a gratitude journal (that’s a goal for November), but I want to start looking at my life as it is now – taking more pictures, slowing down, really enjoying the time I have with friends and myself.

That’s what my focus for the month will be – enjoying my life. And it’s not that I currently don’t. I think I just need to start reminding myself to enjoy the moment or day or event that I’m in instead of looking forward to the next fresh start or activity. Hopefully that focus means some increased blogging, too!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

