Nice timing

It’s the last week of September, my month for slowing down and self-discovery. It seems fitting, then, that I would come down with pink eye. I left the office early yesterday to go to the doctor (and at the request of colleagues, who understandably wanted to stay far away from me) and took my first sick day today.

It sounds weird, but I think I’ve enjoyed having pink eye way more than I should. The actual eye is a bit annoying, but my life slowed down considerably. You know what I’ve done today? Drank coffee, curled up on the couch under my favorite fleece blanket and read two magazines and half a book while a slight breeze came in through the porch screen. Sounds delightful, right? (As a side note, Real Simple magazine is made for people like me.) My room is clean, I don’t have a to-do list and for once I don’t care about whether I’m productive or not. It’s amazing and exactly what I needed.

I keep asking myself why I don’t do this more often. When’s the last time I let myself just read and relax, without thinking of half a dozen things I should be doing instead? Does it really take at “stay away from people because you’re contagious” warning to get me to slow down? I really hope not.

I’d ponder and blog about this more, but I just brewed another pot of decaf coffee and my book is way more enjoyable than anything I could write right now.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

