The debate continues

While Gretchen Rubin talked about this a bit in her book, I was drawn to this article the other day and keep going back to it. I think it brings up a really interesting perspective that I hadn’t given much consideration to for myself.

I think my problem is that I really want to be a moderator when in reality, it’s better for me to be an abstainer. In fact, this quote hit really close to home for me:

If I try to be moderate, I exhaust myself debating, “Today, tomorrow?” “Does this time ‘count?’” etc. If I never do something, it requires no self-control for me; if I do something sometimes, it requires enormous self-control.

This couldn’t be more true. I’ve mentioned this before, but for the sake of argument, I’ll give a the ten-cent version. For my new year’s eve resolution, I log the number of miles as there are days in the month. For every 12 ounces of pop I drink, I add another mile to that benchmark.

In some ways it’s good because it limits my pop intake. Well, at least it used to. Now it’s just exhausting. It’s like I have to rationalize all my soda intake and try to figure out if/when/how I’m going to make up those extra miles. I love data and tracking information, but even for me this is too much.

Maybe the solution is to just be an abstainer. I’ve quit pop cold turkey before so it’s not impossible… but do I really want to go without? It’s such a struggle for me, which is why it remains a great debate. Sometimes it just hits the spot in a way coffee and tea can’t. If only Diet Coke and Diet Dr. Pepper didn’t taste so good!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

