Slight detour

I was trying to think of some pun or clever reason about how my month of trying to slow down somehow correlated to having a quiet blog. It didn’t take long to realize I’m probably not witty enough to pull it off well.

In some ways, my life did slow down a bit. I traveled last week for work, and like I predicted, it was a prime opportunity to be alone with my thoughts to clear my head. The weather was gorgeous, the scenery in southwestern Missouri were beautiful and I wasn’t focused on emails or to-do lists. I’d even wager I only listened to the radio about half the time (which is huge, since my rental car had satellite radio and I’m obsessed. I’m almost appalled at how much 50s and 60s music I know, and 40s music is so classy!) and the silence was amazing. Fewer things are more relaxing than driving around with the windows rolled down when you’ve got gorgeous weather and a fountain pop.

Then this weekend I got to dog-sit one of my co-worker’s chocolate lab. (For those who don’t know me, chocolates are my favorite dog, followed by golden retrievers, black labs, Newfoundlands and Rottweilers – I’ve got a thing for big dogs and I can’t wait until I’m at a point in my life where I can adopt my own. Until then, I dog sit and borrow other people’s dogs.) With the gorgeous weather, it meant that instead of working out at the gym, I spent an hour out walking on the trail with a chocolate. I still want to get out in nature more this month, but this weekend was a great start and it I can’t tell you how awesome it felt to be out in the fresh air and sunshine.

This past week or so almost felt like a mini-vacation, minus the whole working part. I got out of the office, out of town and out of my routine. Now that it’s getting back to full force, I need to find that peace and quiet again. I returned to Columbia on Friday and my apartment on Sunday, and it felt like I had to schedule and fit in everything I couldn’t do last week. Probably wasn’t my brightest idea given how packed my schedule is, but what can you do? Live and learn…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

