The progress continues

Like the summer in general, it seems the month of August was gone in the blink of an eye. With a new month just four days away, I figured it was time to assess how my August goals went. Then I’ll have to fine-tune my September goals, so stay posted for that.

But first, the August goals:

Find an organization to join. I’m really excited about this one. Not only did I find an organization, but I actually joined already. It’s a program through the Boone County Agency on Aging where I get paired up to visit weekly with a senior citizen, almost like an “adopt a grandparent” program. I’m meeting my match on Tuesday and couldn’t be more excited!

Start my resolution again. I’m happy to report I’m back on track! Well, kind of. I did get back on a Diet Coke kick, so I’m trying to curb that. But my working out has been awesome this month. I’m back at Zumba and loving it. I seriously feel like it gives me twice as much energy to get through the weeks. And just last week I went to my first spinning class, which was an interesting experience. My old boss had me to go her gym since they have a really small spinning studio, and while the class was a little rough on the knees, I came away feeling awesome. How have I not tried it before?

Stay current on the news. This has decreased a bit. While NPR was my trusted source, I think I got tired of continually hearing about the debt crisis and went back to my music. I’ve also noticed that when I listen to music as opposed to the news, I feel much more energetic when I arrive at my destination. I’ll have to see if there are better ways for me to follow what’s going on in the world.

Read 3 books outside my typical genre. Well, I think this is going to need to roll over into September… I’m halfway through George Orwell’s 1984, in part inspired by it being on my dad’s desert island books list. So far I’m really enjoying it and if I don’t finish it up this week, I for sure will next week when I’m out traveling for the week for work. Then it will be on to the next two books outside my genre.

Make my room a retreat. I’m finally making progress on this! Thanks to all the back-to-school/dorm sales, I picked up a few cute items for my room. I’ve changed some colors, organized the shelves at the top of my closet and my desk is still an awesome reading/journaling area. I walk into my room now, and while it’s still filled with books and binders, the bed looks so comfortable with the new pillows and lamps. I’m toying with a few more room decor ideas, so we’ll see what else I can come up with.

Develop a bucket list. I’ll admit I haven’t really touched the googledoc I created when I last updated my blog about my August goals, but when inspiration strikes, at least I’ve got it handy. I did get a blank journal a week or so ago as an inspiration journal, so that counts for something, right?

All and all, I’d say that it was generally a successful month. I didn’t necessarily accomplish all the goals I was hoping to, but there’s no reason I can’t carry them into next month. Plus it’s more about the process and going with the flow anyway. I’m enjoying the new experiences and simplifying my life, so how can it not make me happy?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

