(Not as) healthy cooking venture

I won’t lie – I don’t lead an extremely exciting life. This past Friday, after a busy week with both jobs, I decided a night in was just what I needed. My old roommate and I decided to keep up with our cooking interest with another homemade meal and Modern Family. (As a side note, I’d never seen the show so I decided to get it through Netflix since everyone’s been talking about it. Now I see why – I’m hooked!)

We’d actually had our meal planned out last weekend. While we were preparing our healthy meal, we’d talked about comfort foods and past recipes we’ve tried, trying to figure out what we wanted our next cooking venture to include. We’d had two successful runs with meatloaf, in part inspired by earning your apron’s post on mini meatloaf. Probably not something you crave in August, but it hit the spot.

Through previous cooking ventures we’d also discovered a love for risotto. We wanted to try it with the quinoa, but with the grocery store out of it, we substituted couscous instead. Even more awesome? We (okay, it was mostly my old roommate) crafted our own recipe – and it turned out to be amazing! Not that you could really go wrong with fresh spinach, fresh mushrooms and couscous, though.

While our past two attempts at meatloaf were the mini meatloaf, the muffin tin was being used for something a bit more important: dessert. Feeling a bit guilty about meatloaf, we opted for a dessert that wasn’t caked in chocolate and other goodness. The mini olive oil cakes with lemon glaze actually turned out really well, although ours didn’t look nearly as pretty as the photo on the website.

The night ended with another successful cooking experience and a new show for me to watch. Quite the Friday night!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

