Healthy cooking venture

My old roommate and I used to be in the routine of cooking about once a week, trying new recipes and documenting our ventures. We actually have a googledoc full of past efforts, but it’s been untouched for a number of months.

The urge struck to start cooking again, originating with a chickpea salad recipe. She’d heard of quinoa and wanted to experiment with it. Sticking with the super healthy theme (and also craving fish after hearing how my co-worker broils it), we paired it with salmon this evening. A-mazing:

The photo doesn’t quite do the meal justice. I also know I won’t be able to describe the process or end result quite like the gal earning her apron does, so I won’t go into details.

I will say I was really impressed with the chickpea salad. Like seriously impressed. I was nervous glancing at all those ingredients, and the jalapeno was a bit much, but the salad was just so fresh and flavorful. And in a rather obvious statement, let me just say that fresh salmon = a million times better than the frozen salmon I often purchase. Must start eating that more frequently.

We even found a relatively healthy apple crisp for dessert. I’d call this evening’s healthy cooking venture a success!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Healthy cooking venture

  1. Thanks for mentioning my blog! I get your blog updates in my e-mail every time you post and love reading them. You keep inspiring me to return to my healthy living ways (after the spring of hell, my naughty Diet Coke addiction has returned- along with a few other bad habits!) The chickpea salad looks AMAZING- I put it in my recipe box of things to try! We’re making salmon tonight with a couscous/zucchini salad, and I’m super pumped. You’re right- I never buy frozen, fresh is the way to go!

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

