Thought for the day

I always hate the question, “what are your hobbies?” For the longest time I just answered, “Hobbies? I don’t have time for those.” Now that I’m out of school and don’t have an endless stream of homework, though, it’s probably time I start figuring out what mine are.

Part of my problem is something Gretchen Rubin talked about in her book. I feel like I need to have exciting hobbies or hobbies that are worth mentioning/talking about.  But really, my hobbies need to be about me. Reading may not sound that exciting, but it’s undoubtedly a favorite hobby of mine. Cooking is another one of mine, albeit I don’t do it as often as I’d like.

Those are the answers I used yesterday when the volunteer coordinator asked what I like to do in my free time. It’s been on my mind ever since, and then today I came across this quote:

Maybe curiosity is my hobby. By no means do I have set hobbies. Instead I find that I go through phases based on things that interest me or inspire me. One month I may be into pottery or dog walking at the humane society, and the next I’m all about watching critically acclaimed films. For one week I might be into graphic design and the next I’ll spend my time reading instead. I don’t collect anything or possess certain skills or have activities I can’t live without.

And instead of seeing that as a bad thing, I think I’m starting to see it as a good thing. I’m always willing to try new things and don’t get caught up in set hobbies. Now that I’ve got the time, I can create more opportunities to explore the things that spark my curiosity and interests.

I wonder if that would ever pass as an acceptable answer for “what are you hobbies?”….

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

