Re-energize

I’d started writing a post yesterday but deleted it when I realized it was mostly me complaining. My co-worker has a goal this week of not complaining, or at least catching herself when she is so that she can stop. In an effort to be supportive (and also because I completely agree that complaining and negativity from others affects your own mood, so I’m non-committally taking on the challenge), I wanted to start fresh.

The main point of the post is that this week I found myself struggling to go to the gym. I’ve gone, thankfully, but I haven’t been as motivated or even energized once I get on the stairstepper (my new fave, surprisingly) or the virtual bike that lets me navigate the coastline. Mostly I think it has to do with my brain being overstimulated. Does that sound crazy? Can being mentally tired effect your physical enegery that much?

I’ve taken my goal of trying to get informed very seriously (granted, it’s only been four days…). My wisest move was tuning into NPR on my commute to and from work. What used to be just passive listening to music is now about educating myself. It’s actually been really informative and always prompts me to search out other related news stories for more information, but I probably need more time to adjust to the information-overload. I also probably need some time to find news sources that I feel give me the information I need instead of just a person or political party to blame. (Listening to news while at the gym proved to be a major fail because of that issue).

Not that news is the only thing at fault for my lack of brain power. In general it’s just been a busy week, and I can tell my mind and body are in need of a break. Thankfully, I have just the thing.  The happiness book I’m currently reading (don’t worry – I’ve got a stack of about 8 books outside my genre that people have lent me for my August goal, so I will expand my reading horizons) mentioned the effect of people. One of the best ways to increase your happiness is to spend time with family and friends. In a world of information overload (this book always seems so fitting in my life), it’s often social interaction that puts things back into perspective. 

And that’s just what I’ll get to do with the middle sister visiting this weekend. 🙂

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

