Thought for the day

It’s been a crazy day, as I thought it would be. Between work and my side job, I feel like I’ve barely had a minute to breathe, let alone relax. My to-do list just kept growing – so much so that I ended up skipping my workout to put in an extra hour at work and get my grocery shopping done.

Then I came home. I didn’t let myself look at my to-do lists (yes, it’s plural). I didn’t even turn on my television. Instead I planted myself at my desk and opened my book. Not even two pages in I read this:

“Take a few minutes and think about your own life and how crammed it is with stuff. E-mails, BlackBerries, Twitter tweets, meetings, shopping – our days are consumed by a continuous stream of activity, most of it mundane and uninspiring. Then when we’ve become exhausted, we collapse in our beds or on the sofa with the television staring back at us, only to wake up the next morning to spin the wheel all over again. The lesson to be learned is simple. Too many dark clouds can block the most beautiful sunset. Less is often more, and simplifying your life isn’t as difficult or as painful as you might think.” Ian Smith, Happy

It’s official – simplicity is my theme.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Thought for the day

  1. This is so true! The best things in life are the simplest things. Great Post : )

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

