The desk problem

I’ve been going back and forth for weeks about whether I wanted to keep my desk. While I was really, really tempted to get rid of the sucker, I love it too much. Given my personality, it’s the perfect desk for me.

This weekend I decided it was time to get serious about organizing it, especially with my August goal of wanting to make my room more relaxing. As you saw from the picture back in mid-July (also posted below), it was a basically one large shelf. I’ve been working on getting rid of papers clogging the binders, but up until yesterday, it was still basically a shelf.

I think my theme for the happiness project is going to be simplicity. I don’t want clutter everywhere. I don’t want to micro-manage my own goals of finding more happiness and joy in life. I don’t want to have hectic schedules or over-commit myself anymore. I want to keep it simple.

Since I do a lot of journaling and reading, particularly with my interest in happiness, I wanted to make an area that’s conducive to that. While I normally just journal, write emails and read in bed, it more often than not throws off my sleeping habits. Spend Sunday evening reading in bed makes it difficult to fall asleep Sunday night.

Now I’ve created an area to read, write, research, take notes, blog, etc. While I still think I’d rather curl up on the couch or in bed to read, this afternoon it was rather enjoyable to read at my desk. I could easily grab my quote journal or grab loose leaf paper to jot something down that stood out to me. Plus I easily grabbed my computer to blog. It’s actually kind of an inspiring setup.

Before…and after.

It’s still a bit more cluttered than I’d like given how many binders are on my desk, but at least I’ve found places to put the little nick-knacks and office supplies that were taking over my desk. It will continue to be a work in progress this August, but I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised at how much I’m liking this.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

