Time to pull a Liz

As the title of my blog might indicate, I love lists and organization. I’m a Type-A personality almost to a T, so you can bet at any given time I’ve probably got about three lists going and my schedule for the week set. In part it’s what helps me function, but having that type of organization also leaves me feeling energized and less stressed. Once it’s on paper I can get it out of my head.

One thing I haven’t made dozens of lists on, though, is the happiness project, and I think it’s time that I start getting serious about that. When I first introduced my blog, I mentioned that I didn’t know what goals I wanted to focus on in a specific month. Two months later, I still don’t. I had Juneathon goals in June and an over-arching goal these past two months of de-cluttering my apartment and life, but that’s about it.

I’ve managed to make some progress, so it hasn’t been a failure by any means. My electronic clutter is a bit better since I took myself off more listservs than I knew what to do with and my closet and desk are slowly thinning out. But without an actual goal or end-date, those projects could go on forever. Even looking at my closet now gives me an urge to organize, so I know it’s not quite done.

Like I mentioned yesterday, though, there’s no time like the present. This week I’m going to plan my goals through at least December. I’m also giving myself a deadline for the de-cluttering. The middle sister is coming to visit me in two weeks, so by then I want to have my room de-cluttered and organized. Actually, she may come in handy for the final de-cluttering of the closet. The sisters used to have a closet clean-out night – we went through every piece of clothing in the closet and if you got a “no” from both sisters about keeping it, you had to get rid of that item of clothing. It can be brutal, but it works.

In the words of the little sister, my action plan, if you will, consists of the following:

  • De-clutter my closet by August 6 (trim down professional clothes, take clothes to Goodwill, organize shelves and drawers)
  • De-clutter and organize my desk by August 6
  • Create my bucket list
  • Develop my happiness project goals and action plans through December
  • Kick off August’s goals on August 1
I have to say, now that I’ve got a list I feel better already!
About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

