Happiness project –> Bucket list?

I’ve passed on The Happiness Project book to yet another reader. I don’t know whether it’s ridiculous or impressive that I’ve been able to bring this up in so many different conversations.

What I’m finding interesting and also comforting, though, is that a lot of people my age are going through the same things I am. I’m done with school – now what the hell do I do with my free time and life? It’s daunting, overwhelming, frustrating, exhilarating, all of those things wrapped up in one.

Hence the happiness project.

I’m lucky in that I’ve got a great support system here and people who are willing to try new things to shake up routine. My old roommate and I have had countless conversations in the past about what we can do to make our lives more interesting. Just the other day, we decided to start a list.

Slowly, though, that list turned into a bucket list for me.

I’ve never been big on bucket lists. The middle sister has one and aims to cross a certain number off her list each year, but I was never creative enough to think of things I felt I absolutely wanted to do before I reached a certain age or died. Plus I was afraid I’d be setting myself up for failure – something I really don’t like. Sure I’ve got things I’d like to accomplish or see in my lifetime, but I wanted to err on the side of caution.

Now, though, the idea of a bucket list leaves me feeling energized. In part I think it’s because it just started off as a list of things my old roommate and I could try in the coming weeks or months – simple things like rent a foreign film or volunteer with an organization for a day or visiting all the historic site(s) in the area. I didn’t have to think about how I could realistically visit every continent or publish a book. This list seems more me, not the adventurous, jet-setting person I often wish I could be.

As that list continues to develop (primarily from lots of googling and explore sites like this and this) and I start to cross things off, I’ll be sure to post my progress. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from Juneathon it’s that blogging holds me accountable.

In the meantime, does anyone else have a bucket list? What are some must-haves?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “Happiness project –> Bucket list?

  1. Maren

    I live everyday of my life as though it is a bucket list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

