My body hates me

One of the things I love but at times dislike about my job is the traveling. It’s great because it actually gets me out into communities and gives me a chance to meet with the people I work with instead of doing it all via email and phone. Yesterday I met with three of my agencies and had a ball. I love seeing the passion, energy and uniqueness of each organization, and there’s no way I could get that connection without visiting with them in person. Traveling also breaks up the monotony of going to work every day just to sit in front of a computer.

That being said, it does do a number on my body. This is my third day on the road, and I’m craving a long workout, fresh fruit and a big bottle of water. I’m also counting down until I can sleep in my own bed (tomorrow!!) and make my own meals. Basically I want to get my body and life back into a healthy routine.

My health cravings increased tenfold tonight after my boss took me to Lambert’s Cafe, which is apparently a must for anyone who visits this area. Holy. Cow. I feel like you walk in there and automatically gain 5 pounds. It’s famous for it’s “throwed rolls,” which means they take hot dinner rolls out of the oven and throw them at customers who want them. It’s slightly entertaining and quite good, but probably not what I needed.

I knew it was going to be southern food, so I tried to be healthy with my sides. In addition to the chicken and dumpling (I’m a sucker for it), I ordered sliced peaches and corn. Little did I know the peaches would be in heavy syrup and corn would be drenched in butter. There went that idea. During your meal, they also come around with “throw arounds,” which are free side dishes. As if the meals aren’t big enough already… The public health side of me could only shake my head. I vowed as I left the restaurant that I would let my stomach settle and hit the hotel gym. It’s a must.

Thankfully this dinner was a rare event. Monday night on my traveling journey, for example, I opted for a salad and big water bottle I craved for dinner. I know it’s possible to eat healthy and stay on track on the road. Somehow I need to figure out all the tricks and tips. Any out there? How to avoid blowing your progress and good intentions on the road?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

