Frustrations

This summer hasn’t been what I hoped it would be as far as working out goes, even with Juneathon. Summer is generally the time where I kick my working out up a notch because I didn’t have the homework and campus activities as a distraction. I was just looking at my workout stats (because I’m a research nerd and love data), and it’s almost disappointing to see how June and July of this summer compared to my spring semester and last summer.

Part of the problem is that I haven’t joined the gym yet, which I plan on remedying on Friday after my week of travels ends. I did well with my morning jogs during Juneathon, but now the heat/humidity (you’d think after two summers here I’d be used to it by now…) and my desire for an extra hour of sleep keep me in bed. In June I was energized by morning runs and went to work feeling amazing. Now when I get a morning run in (which granted, has only been three times this month), the humidity gets to me and I start my day feeling sick.

I do worry that it might not be just a gym thing. Realistically I do have time to workout in the evenings. Not factoring in the humidity, though, lately I’d much rather clean out my apartment or go to the library and read or hang out with friends. It’s so nice to have that down time and not feel like I have to be doing something or accomplishing something. It was almost easier to workout when I was a student and had to be efficient with my schedule. Now I just want to relax and enjoy life for a change.

Not that any of this should be an excuse for not working out, though. I need to get back on track. Even just having two or three weeks of not working out on a consistent basis has left me feeling like crap, and I hate that feeling. Even if I didn’t log the amount of miles I would normally like, at least Juneathon kept me accountable. Time to brainstorm a new motivator and accountability system… Suggestions? What keeps you going during the summer heat and when you’ve feeling burnt out from working out?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

