Cleaning out the paper clutter

As I predicted, organizing and de-cluttering my desk wasn’t as enjoyable and easy as I wanted it to be. My desk, while I absolutely love it, has undoubtedly become just a large shelf in my bedroom:

The desk was definitely helpful when I was in school, and to some extent it still is. Nearly all the binders on the top and along the side have notes from class, research, work samples. You name it, I probably saved it.

Last night I decided to start small. I went through every single binder you see on that desk, hoping to at least eliminate some clutter from the desk. I ended up with three empty binders, ten file folders, three regular folders and another file holder box I had in my closet. I also have about five empty notebooks that I’m not sure what to do with. I won’t need them again for school, but I don’t want to just recycle the paper if there’s something better I can do with it.

Emptying and sifting through all those resulted in two paper stacks filled to the brim with paper to recycle. It’s a little bit ridiculous how much paper I’ve been able to get out of my room. Graduate school is a major tree-killer. And to think there’s still more left! I could probably afford to get rid of more of my old school documents, but some of it I wasn’t ready to part with just yet. I’ll likely do another run-through to see if I can recycle more of it when I’ve given myself a break.

The more I think about it (especially now that I have much less stuff on the desk – the above was a before picture of sorts), the more I think it’s probably better to get rid of the desk. I’m torn, though. I absolutely love the desk and it’s a fantastic way to keep things organized. But, I bet there’s a better way to organize that stuff so it’s not just a large shelf. Plus I feel like you walk into my bedroom and almost feel overwhelmed by it. I look at the desk and think of work/homework/non-relaxing thoughts. Shouldn’t my room be a place to rest and not work?

We’ll see. Maybe after a few more days of pondering it an answer will come to me.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Cleaning out the paper clutter

  1. Bri

    wait til fall for the empty notebooks and they always do school supply drives for low income kids. donate!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

