Another mental struggle

There’s been a lack of blogging (and jogging) these past few days due to holiday festivities. While there’s lots of flooding from the Missouri River, I made the detoured trek back home to surprise my parents. The little sister flew in from DC and the middle came up from Nebraska, so it was a family affair. The weekend was exactly what I needed and we got to partake in our 4th of July traditions, albeit a day early.

The aftermath of the weekend has been a bit strange for me. This morning, for example, I got up to jog since I’d indulged over the weekend, and the whole time I was trying to figure out what to blog about my jog. I had to keep reminding myself that Juneathon was over and I no longer had to bore you with the details of my jog (which went pretty well). Today I was running for the sake of running, not for to be able to log it and blog about it. It’s a little strange, although I’m sure that will pass.

I’m hoping the other weirdness I’m experiencing passes soon, too. Generally summer flies by after the 4th, so around this time I get into a slight panic about what I should do to make the most of what remains of my summer. For the first time, though, I won’t be going back to school in the fall. I’m not in the middle of “summer vacation” with limited time remaining before my evenings and weekends are consumed by homework. It’s amazing, but also very strange to me.

I think one of the hardest things about my new job (hard to believe I’ve been there a month now) is having a more long-term mentality. Most 40-hour a week jobs for me have just been summer internships. Any job I’ve had over a long period of time has only been part-time to accommodate school. It’s still hard to see myself having a full-time gig, well, full-time. What I do for 40 hours a week now won’t change in the fall or winter. The only thing constant in my life used to be change, and now that’s not the case. I suppose it’s about time to find other things to spice it up a bit. More on that later.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Another mental struggle

  1. Same here! Trying to make my summer last…well, I think it is going to work!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

