The great debate

I had a hunch all that sleep would come back to bite me. It’s night two of not being able to fall asleep, but it’s allowed me to catch up on things I’d neglected for a few days.

I wish I could say I dragged myself out of bed this morning, but that extra 45 minutes of sleep was definitely needed. Immediately when I woke up I was plotting what my source of caffeine would be for the morning. That’s what actually spurred this blog post.

Back in college, I was a Diet Coke junkie. I didn’t like coffee (yet) so Diet Coke was my go-to for a caffeine fix. Morning, noon and mid-evening, you’d likely find a can of Diet Coke in my hand. In fact, I often got Diet Coke for birthday and Christmas presents.

Over the years I’ve tried to give up or at least cut back. I gave it up for a whole year once and this year I’ve decreased my consumption quite considerably thanks to my new year’s resolution. I’ve mentioned it before, but my goal is to log the number of miles as there are days in a month. For every 12 ounces of soda I have, I have to add a mile to that number. Definitely makes me think twice before opening a can of that goodness.

Recently, though, it’s been really rough.

Here’s my struggle: Sometimes (okay, so probably most work days) I wake up like I did today and almost instinctively think about when/how I’m going to get caffeine. It that time of year when it’s too hot to enjoy coffee, iced coffee (at least the way I order it) packs on calories that I don’t need and iced tea just doesn’t hit the spot. I feel like a Diet Coke, especially when it’s fountain pop, gives me the caffeine I need and also gives me something to sip on throughout the morning and/or afternoon. It’s perfect.

But I wonder how bad it may or may not be for my health. Intuitively I know that pop (or soda, if depending on where you’re from) is a treat, even if it is a diet soda. And in my defense I do make sure to drink lots of water. (Side note: if it’s up your alley, try blackberry grape crystal light mix. A-mazing!) As with most treats, I would assume a once-in-awhile approach wouldn’t be terrible, but I feel like I’m all or nothing with pop. Just like in the winter I have a cup (or two or three…) of coffee a day, I’d want a Diet Coke everyday.

What’s the happy medium? Is there one? Will there ever be a resolution to this great debate?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “The great debate

  1. Michelle

    So after I read this post this morning, there was this article on Yahoo. I think it’s very interesting that the body can tell the difference between the sweeteners. And even more interesting that the artificial sweetener stops the “full” feeling. Hope you find something else to keep you going all day!

    http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/health/diet-soda-may-be-making-you-fat-2504019/

  2. Can’t help I’m afraid. I gave up caffeine years ago because I got so fed up of getting splitting headaches if I couldnt get my fix.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

