Juneathon: Day 23

I’m rather impressed with myself – four straight days of waking up at 5 a.m to workout! All in the name of Juneathon…

It does lead me to wonder if I’ve done myself a service or back-tracked by working out everyday. Prior to Juneathon I was averaging workouts 4-5 times a week, generally 45 minutes to an hour in length. Now I workout everyday, but generally only for 20-30 minutes. It probably adds up to about the same amount, but in trying to structure a workout plan for July (can’t believe it’s almost here!) I’m trying to decide what’s going to work better for me.

I can tell you guilting myself out of bed every morning to jog probably won’t be part of the plan, although this morning was a reminder of why I’ve grown somewhat fond of the outdoor morning jogs. The weather was absolutely perfect. I almost thought about throwing on a sweatshirt, but a few minutes into the jog I was just the right temp.

There were a handful of times when I walked during this morning’s jog, and I was kind of annoyed about it. I’d been doing so well at not stopping to walk, but today I couldn’t seem to keep myself moving toward the end. It wasn’t until a few hours later when I was mapping my route to log the distance that I found out why – I did 2.1 miles! At that point I was more proud than annoyed. Actually, I was ecstatic. Normally I just do 1.5 miles with 1-1.25 of jogging. I probably jogged just over that today and upped my overall mileage for the day.

The best part of the jog, though? The golden retriever that ran out of her yard to greet me. In true golden retriever fashion, as I reached out to pet her, she rolled over so I could give her a belly rub. I got to hang out with the golden for a good minute or two before the owner came to collect the dog. She was cute, but not nearly as cute as our family’s golden (although I admit I’m really, really biased):

And this is our golden when we woke up at 3:30 to catch our flight to Hawaii. Something tells me she would not enjoy waking up for early morning runs.

We also have an adorable black lab. I didn’t want to play favorites.

You have to admit they’re pretty cute.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Juneathon: Day 23

  1. Well done on upping your mileage and yes your dogs are very cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

