Clearing out the electronic clutter

I figured it was about time a post unrelated to Juneathon and running. I’m getting a bit tired of writing about it, and I would imagine people are getting sick of reading out it.

I’m still in the process (okay, not really given my travel schedule and workaholic tendencies, but I’m hoping to remedy that this weekend) of cleaning out my closet. And my bathroom. And my kitchen. It’s so energizing to start clearing out the clutter that I can’t seem to sick with one location. I also want to start gathering up all my sentimental items to put into my cute file box (although I loved the suggestion from the modern parsonage about having a box that you go through every time it gets full).

In the meantime, though, I’ve also been trying to clear out my electronic clutter. One of the breakout sessions I went to for the women’s leadership conference last Saturday was about clearing out your clutter, so it was very fitting. The speaker said that the average person has 3,000 emails in their inbox. Three. Thousand.

My work and school email generally didn’t get that bad. In part, though, because I have so many folders and subfolders that there’s never a ton in my actual inbox. I still probably don’t need all those emails, so I’ve been working my way through one folder at a time. It’s been a bit tiring, but it’s also cool to see my trash folder grow and ultimately be emptied.

My gmail inbox is a different story. I’m bordering on 1,000 and that’s after clearing out a bunch of old emails already. Do I really need that many emails? Probably not. But sometimes it’s hard to decide what to keep and what to delete. The speaker said that when you get to a point where you can’t decide, you have to ask yourself what’s the worst thing that could happen if you deleted it. Probably nothing, but sometimes I like hanging on to emails that at one point made me happy or got me to where I am today. It’s kind of like saving it for a rainy day.

To avoid having to make those decisions, I’ve decided to start out small. The first thing I’ve started doing is unsubscribing myself from most email listservs. Generally when those random emails pop up, I just delete them. The problem is, they never stop coming, so I feel like I wake up each morning and have to delete 5+ emails from my blackberry. Every morning. No more of that nonsense.

For the last two weeks, for every email I get that I don’t really need (random stores, newsletters I never read, etc) I take the time to open it up and unsubscribe myself. I don’t know that I’ve seen a substantial decrease in the number of crap emails I get, but it does make me feel better. And that’s what really counts, right?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Clearing out the electronic clutter

  1. Bri

    Ugh, I need to start doing the unsubscribe thing! It seems like the more I unsubscribe, the more new things I find to subscribe to…like, sure, maybe I’ll use that Nine West coupon or Express had a great deal the last time I went there (6 months ago). Thanks for linking to my blog 🙂 I love getting your daily updates, they make me feel really lazy because bar studying isn’t as conducive to working out, but I rationalize the painting and cleaning as some kind of physical activity. Also, you need to tell me what your job is because I don’t think I know and it sounds awesome!!!! We need to get together for lunch or something soon!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

