Juneathon: Day 21

I definitely didn’t make it to the gym last night. In fact, I barely even read my Nook. Instead, I crashed by 9:30 p.m. and didn’t move the entire night. I knew yesterday was an off day.

Oddly enough, I woke up around 4 a.m. and felt wide awake. I decided to use that extra time to get in a longer workout, which was one of my goals for week 3. Diversity was the name of the game, and I hit each machine in the hotel gym. I did make sure to get on the treadmill for a quarter-mile jog just so I could keep the running streak going, but I mostly focused on the bike (2.5 miles) and the elliptical (2 miles).

I will say it was a bit weird to be back on an elliptical. It wasn’t bad…but it wasn’t as awesome as I thought it would be. In part I think it was because it was a different type of elliptical machine and I wasn’t used to the flow. Or it could be that I had my music blaring, which I don’t do when I’m running outside because it’s mentally distracting. And we all know I already have enough issues in tackling the mental obstacles of running.

Whatever the reason, it just didn’t feel the same to be working out in a gym. (It was nice that I woke up to rain and didn’t have to frantically try to figure out if/when/how to get in a workout because of weather issues, though.) It will be interesting to see how I feel about workouts once I rejoin the gym on Saturday. I’m a little nervous about it, actually, but I’m ready to be back in Zumba and out of the heat and humidity.

When I’m motivated, I tend to be a gym rat. I get into a routine of going a certain number of times a week and most of the time I have no problem being at the gym. Plus I love being able to see how far I’ve gone, exactly how long I’ve worked out and the calories. Juneathon, though, has gotten me outdoors for a huge portion of my workouts. I like that I actually have something to look at and I find it’s easier to stay mentally focused when I’m running outdoors. It also feels like a more natural workout. I didn’t like having my body flow match the elliptical machines, which isn’t something I really noticed before I got into the habit of jogging.

Oh the things Juneathon has done to me… Only 9 more days left!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

