Week 2 Recap

Another week of Juneathon done!

I won’t lie – at times it’s been a pain in the butt. Now that we’re two weeks in, though, I feel like I’m starting to get into the swing of things and have made it more of a habit. I’m actually happy that I not only signed up for Juneathon, but more importantly, that I’ve stuck with it. Like I’ve said before (and will probably say again), there have been days I know with absolute certainty I wouldn’t have worked out had it not been for Juneathon.

Even more than that, though, Juneathon keeps me jogging. I mean, Week 2 ended with a workout where I jogged just under a mile with no break to walk. Today I jogged 1.25 miles straight. That’s progress for me! I’ve been saying for years that I’ve wanted to be able to do something like that, and now I’m slowly getting there.

That being said, when I looked at my Week 2 numbers, I wasn’t all that thrilled. My goal was 15 miles, and technically I met that. It feels fudged, though, because of the miles I biked. I still worked hard for those miles, but it feels like I cheated my own system.

Day 8:  5.6 (5 were biking)
Day 9:  6.5 (6.25 were biking)
Day 10:  0.1
Day 11:  1.8
Day 12:  0.0 (workout DVD)
Day 13:  2.3
Day 14:  1.0
TOTAL:  17.2 miles (11.25 were biking…)
TOTAL TO DATE:
30.6 miles

Again, I’m not entirely happy with my numbers for week 2, although it probably doesn’t help that I had two days where I didn’t get out for a legit workout. But it gives me something to re-focus on in the next couple of weeks. I want to continue to jog everyday so I can keep building endurance (even if it’s just mental, which is a lot of it).

While it sounds contradictory, I also want to start incorporating more elliptical miles (I can’t wait to re- join my gym and reunite with the elliptical!) and even walking miles. I know I can’t go out and jog 5 miles at a time, so I’m not going to pull in more miles and longer workouts without relying on the elliptical and walking. Plus I think it’s time to start diversifying my workouts a bit.

We’ll just have to see how week 3 shakes out, particularly since I’m on the road for three days next week for work. My life is never boring.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

