Juneathon: Day 16

I’m in love with the new route I did on Tuesday morning.

I don’t know that there’s anything particularly special about it, but it seems to be making a world of difference. Whenever I think about my normal route, it makes me not want to run. It could be, though, that it’s the route I’ve used for the last two years. I’ve got a few variations of it, but it’s not particularly interesting. Plus this morning I got to see the sun start to peak out and it just made the crisp morning seem amazing.

Knowing I did just under a mile on Tuesday, I wanted to see what I could do today. I surpassed it. 🙂

Today I jogged 1.25 miles, with another .25 miles for warm up/cool down. There was one point where I thought about stopping to walk, but I had a feeling that if I did, it was going to be hard to get back to jogging again. So I kept at it, reminding myself that I could still breathe and my legs weren’t about to fall off. I’m coming to find that it’s true when they say running, while physical, is hugely mental.

It’s weird – within the past week or two I talked about how I hated morning workouts and couldn’t get myself to jog past that quarter-mile wall. Now I almost look forward to my 5 a.m. jogs where I actually jog a mile or so. Granted today I didn’t have the same excitement and energy I had after my run on Tuesday, but that’s okay. I still got to go to work feeling accomplished and ready to take on the day. It’s definitely not a bad way to start your day.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

