Juneathon: Day 13

I have two things to say about my run today. One, my knees hate me. Although it’s likely that some of the blame falls on the heels I wore today, which is something I don’t do often. Two, I’m really proud of myself.

While I was driving home the rain was light, and I kept going back and forth about what my game plan should be. I definitely wanted to get a run in, but battling the rain didn’t sound like fun. Thankfully by the time I reach home it was just a light mist. Not wanting to miss my chance, I decided to get my jog done and was out the door within 90 seconds of getting home.

I took the same route I did the day the heat nearly took me out, making it about 2.3 miles. I’m proud to say that at the very least (keep in mind I’m new to jogging), at the very least I ran half of it. It’s likely I ran more than half, but I don’t have a pedometer or garmin. All I know is that I pushed myself and ran past my normal landmarks, telling myself that I need to build the endurance. I even sprinted the last stretch before walking back to my apartment as a cool down. It was painful and tiring, but at the end of the workout, it felt amazing. The sun even came out as I arrived home.

Now I’m treating myself to fresh blackberries and wine. No case of the Mondays here!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

