Cleaning out the clutter

While I’m in the midst of getting oriented to the new job and almost half done (!!!) with Juneathon, I’m still trying to focus on other areas of my life. I mentioned way back when I first started this blog that a main motivator and theme was the Happiness Project. My dad (knowing me all too well) gave me the book as a Christmas present and I finally got to read it on my vacation a few weeks ago. I absolutely loved it and have been trying to shape my own Happiness Project.

One of my goals for this month (that will undoubtedly spill over into next month) is clearing out my crap. When I was helping the middle sister move just over a week ago, we both kept commenting how crazy it is to think of how much we’ve acquired. I remember when I could pack my whole room (albeit a dorm room) into my SUV. Heck, even moving to Missouri just took two car loads. Now I don’t even want to think of how many boxes and carloads it would take to move from one place to another.

The frustrating thing is that I probably don’t use a good 25% of it. It’s just sitting there, taking up space in my closet, my bathroom, my kitchen. I haven’t had huge blocks of time to give it the real attention it needs, but this weekend I attempted to start on my closet. I purchased a second layer for my shoe rack and finally all my shoes can be in one spot. The biggest accomplishment, though, was getting rid of 7 pairs of sandals. It may not seem like a lot, but this is from a girl who lives in flip-flops. I’m now proud to say I own more dress shoes than flip-flops. Who ever thought that day would come?!

Tonight, feeling energized mentally after my run, I started to organize the bathroom. And tonight, I didn’t show any mercy. The six half-empty bottles of perfume I haven’t used probably since I moved here three years ago? Gone. The three lotion bottles that have been sitting untouched for a good year? Gone. It’s amazing. And it’s only just the beginning!

One of my next tasks is something that’s mentioned in The Happiness Project. In addition to being a pack rack, I’m also quite sentimental. I’ve got keepsakes all over my room, ranging from greeting cards to gift bags to awards/certificates to invitations. Some are in photo boxes, some are in manilla envelopes, some are in journals or file folders. I’ve had it. I’m putting them all in one place with the cute file box and file folders I purchased tonight. And as a Type A personality, I’m definitely going to enjoy the task.

Anyone else have good organization tips or advice on clearing clutter out? Any rules for deciding what stays and what goes?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

4 responses to “Cleaning out the clutter

  1. I bought a 20 gallon sterlite container and packed Scott’s and mine sentimental stuff in it. When it’s full, I go through and re-evaluate what’s in there and switch it out. Then again, I also routinely send two or more bags per month to Goodwill…so maybe I’ve overreacted to my parents’ pack-ratness 🙂

  2. Harin

    Every May and August – seasons of packing and moving – I feel the same as yours. It seems like to me that I live surrounded by boxes and unused or never-used things!!!! That’s not my life. It’s just material life. When I came to U.S. two years ago, I just brought three luggage bags. Now, I need 3 cars to move out. Seriously…..
    You motivate me to order and get rid of unused/never-used things from my life! Thanks, Liz XXXX!

  3. Pingback: Cleaning out the clutter: Part 2 | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

