Juneathon: Day 11

This morning had the makings for a really good workout. I got nearly 10 hours of solid sleep, the temperatures finally dropped a bit (70s with a breeze) and I knew I was going to get to jog outside instead of on a treadmill.

I was telling my sister earlier this week that I was surprised to find that sometimes when I’m walking, I almost crave a jog. It’s as if I have pent-up energy or anticipation and want to be able to run it out, that walking holds me back. I’ve had that desire to jog for the last few days, but unfortunately that energy didn’t come this morning. I did the same route I did Monday morning and while I managed to run a little bit more of the route than I did Monday, it was a struggle.

Part of my problem, I think, is that it feels like I’ve hit a wall. For awhile I felt like I was making progress with my endurance and distance, but I can’t seem to go beyond that. Has anyone else experienced that? I’ve reached a point where I feel fairly comfortable doing a quarter-mile jog with no problem, but I don’t know if it’s a mental or physical barrier, but anything after that just seems to be a struggle. I want to break past that so I can continue improving.

Granted, I know running endurance doesn’t happen overnight and I’ve only been working at this for two weeks or so, but I need a better gauge of if/how to push myself. How do I know if my workouts are actually helping me build endurance? Do I need to let my body rest a bit from the Juneathon efforts, or do I need to be pushing harder? And if I need to push harder, do I focus on minimizing my walking or increasing my running distance/time? I need something that will help me push past this plateau so I don’t lost interest in jogging. I feel like the bike and elliptical are less confusing for me and my body!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Juneathon: Day 11

  1. I’d say it’s mental, not physical. Just keep plugging away at it with little step ups and the will-power will come.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

