Juneathon: Day 8

Today was a much lighter day work and travel-wise, which was really nice and definitely needed. I didn’t even attempt to get in a morning workout, although I did wake up around 3 a.m. and panicked about whether I should set my alarm earlier just in case. Sleep won.

Oddly enough, even though I got to sleep in a bit more, I didn’t have as much energy as I did yesterday morning. It could just be that I’m losing steam as the week wears on, but it may have to do with the fact that I didn’t get a jump start on my day with a workout. I’m hoping to get another morning workout in this week just to test my theory and see if it makes a difference.

The other thing I like about morning workouts is that it gets it out of the way, especially when I have no idea how my schedule or location will shape up. While we were on our way to our next city this afternoon, my boss (who is fascinated by my Juneathon efforts) cautioned that the gym at the hotel might not be up to par or even open. Last time she was there it was under construction, and I started to wonder if I could muster up a Plan B.

Alls well that ends well, though. The hotel has a decent bike and a treadmill. Even better is the fact that we got to the hotel at 3 p.m. and have down time until dinner. I love afternoon workouts! Right after we checked in, I threw on my gym clothes and went straight to the gym.

Since I had more time than I’ve had in the past few days, I started with 5 miles on the bike, and it was exactly what I needed to decompress. I really need to invest in a real bike and hit some of the trails in Missouri, but for now an exercise bike works. After biking I jumped on the treadmill to make sure I did some jogging in as well. My goal was to repeat yesterday’s half-mile jog and then some, but the latter was a no-go. I got to .6 miles and called it quits. For some reason my shins weren’t impressed with the treadmill and/or my shoes (I packed my lighter pair to save space, but I don’t think they’re great for running).

On the whole, I can’t complain. I got to sleep in, my current hotel ending up having a gym and I got an afternoon workout. Not a bad start to week 2 of Juneathon.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

