Juneathon: Day 6

Quick log and blog before I head to work. I surprisingly was out the door by 5:30 a.m. to make sure I could get some miles in before the hectic week begins. It went much better than my previous morning workout, which was a pleasant surprise.

I’m also surprised at my change in workout preferences. It used to be that I wouldn’t workout unless I had music. That’s still the case when I’m on the elliptical, but I would much rather walk and jog without music. I paused right before I left my apartment to decide whether I would regret not bringing my iPod, but I’m so thankful I didn’t. It’s a nice change of pace, and I think it helps with the mental aspect.

Whenever I told runners that I want to take up running, many would tell me that it’s all mental, that anyone could be a runner. I used to think it was crap. Lately, though, I’m seeing just how mental it can be. In part because it’s what the middle sister does when we jog, I play my own version of “I spy” when I’m running. When I can feel myself starting to breathe irregularly or feel tired, I’ll find a landmark. “Just run to that mailbox.” Then if I get to the mailbox and feel like I can push myself a little farther, I’ll set a new benchmark.

I used that this morning on my jog, and I was surprised at how far I could actually jog when I didn’t let my mind freak out about the fact that I was jogging. I was able to log 1.8 miles this morning, and well over half was spent jogging. Definitely a great confidence boost to start the day.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Juneathon: Day 6

  1. Great effort and I dont just mean the early rise

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

