A few of my favorite things

My body can’t seem to fall asleep at a normal time, so why not blog?

Tonight I had my first homemade meal since Monday night, which is really sad and one of the things I hate most about traveling. When I finally got to cook, it got me thinking about my favorite foods and ingredients. There are probably three things (again with the number three) that I love cooking with and eating.

Avocados. I’m obsessed. I was also really spoiled being in Hawaii for as long as I was. The going price for an average avocado (some of which are HUGE there) is $1.00. One of my last days there I found some for 50 cents. Heaven! I kid you not, I bought more avocados than anything else there. We actually ended up making our own guacamole since it was relatively inexpensive.

Beautiful, right? And all the ingredients (minus the salt and such) were purchased from a local market. Cilantro is also one of my faves, but I’ve only recently starting cooking with the fresh stuff.

Speaking of Hawaii, I’m also obsessed with pineapples. No pizza or wrap is complete without pineapple. They’re also fantastic in calzones and salsa. My latest kick, though, is grilled pineapple. My sister and mom discovered it at a BBQ restaurant back home and we decided to try it while on vacation. So amazing.

What sucks about indulging in those two items is that while they were relatively inexpensive in Hawaii, that’s not the case here. I did give in and buy a pineapple tonight at the grocery store, but I couldn’t justify spending $2.50 on an avocado. It also doesn’t help that I don’t have a grill, so grilled pineapples may be few and far between for the rest of the summer.

The other ingredient I love cooking with is garlic. I’d always used to use garlic salt or powder, but now I only use the real thing. I even bought a garlic press so I could better incorporate them into recipes, like the roasted garlic potatoes I made tonight. It’s probably one of my favorite kitchen gadgets, although I’m always searching for more.

And there you have it, my three favorite foods/ingredients. I tend to go through phases, though, so we’ll see what comes up on my radar next. I’m back to trying to give up an old favorite – Diet Coke. I used to be addicted but have cut back pretty substantially this year thanks to a new year’s resolution. Long story short, I wanted to make a continued resolution of logging the number of miles as there are days in a month (ex: June = 30 miles) harder. This year for every 12 ounces of soda I drink, I have to add a mile. It definitely helped, but with all my traveling I got back on my Diet Coke fix. Tomorrow marks day one of going cold turkey. We’ll see how that goes…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “A few of my favorite things

  1. Harin

    yumyum…! I love avocado and am crazy for GARLIC!!!! We should have some food of both!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

