Juneathon: Day 4

As I was finishing up today’s workout, I couldn’t tell if I should applaud my dedication and effort or shake my head at my insanity. The start of my walk wasn’t too bad, but I forgot just how hot and humid it can get in mid-Missouri. Even for heading out at 4 p.m. (initially I wanted to walk right before noon after meeting people for coffee), I felt every bit of the 95 degrees.

Wanting to get more miles, I opted to walk today for my 2.3 miles around the neighborhood. The hope was that I’d jog nearing the end of my route, but the heat got the better of me. In fact, I cut my walk a bit short because all I could think about was water. Like I said, I could applaud my efforts in the heat, but it’s mostly just stupidity on my part. Definitely made me miss the gym, although I would rather walk and jog outside.

What was different about my walk, though, was that I got full exposure to something unique happening in Missouri. I came back yesterday and was promptly greeted by the sound of cicadas. I’d never even heard of them prior to moving to Missouri three years ago (much like I hadn’t heard of brown recluse spiders…but that’s a whole other story), but apparently the cicada sounds only occur every 13 years in Missouri. I won’t lie – at times I did flinch when one got too close to me. The noise was a bit much at times, but in a few weeks the sounds will be no more.

In the end, the workout wasn’t that impressive, but I’m okay with that given the heat. Tomorrow evening I plan to hit the MKT with a friend, so that should be a lot more enjoyable…and also keep me from panicking about the first day of my big girl job on Monday. I’m definitely jumping right back into reality after vacation.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Juneathon: Day 4

  1. How about applaud your dedication and learn from your insanity?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

