An introduction

I’ve had a blog off and on for a number of years, but somehow I always manage to lose interest and direction. I’m hoping that’s not the case this time. Just so my blog has a purpose, my goal is to stay focused on three things (in part because I have a special connection to the number three): Juneathon/health, new hobbies/adventures and the happiness project.

The initial reason for the blog was Juneathon, which is something the middle sister convinced me to do. Essentially you commit to get in some form of physical activity every day in the month of June, and then you log it and blog about it. She did Janathon and I figured this would be a good motivator to get back into the swing of my workouts after three weeks of downtime/vacation. I also thought I should start putting my MPH to some good use by focusing on health topics.

And speaking of that MPH…the second goal stems from the whole education bit. After twenty years of schooling, I’m finally done. Amazing feeling, but also weird. So much of my life has been wrapped up in school, homework and work that – let’s be honest – at times it felt like I didn’t have a life. I always hate the question “what do you do in your free time?” or “what do you like to do for fun.”

I was at a bookstore the other day and skimmed a book by Alexandra Robbins and Abby Wilner that talked about the notion that twentysomethings have a hard time figuring themselves out after college because often their identities are so intertwined with their majors/degrees, work and activities. It’s natural for us to want to define ourselves by our jobs, but as excited as I am for my new job (starts a week from tomorrow!), I don’t want it to be my whole life.

Thus, I’m making it a personal goal to keep trying new things and find hobbies. Last summer I took up pottery (I’m terrible), dog walking at the humane society (almost took a few dogs home…) and Zumba (still love and continue to do weekly). During the school year I took up cooking, so it’s likely I’ll throw in some of those adventures as well. Now that I’ve got actual free time (or so I hope), it’s a great time to find some new activities that don’t involve reading textbooks and analyzing data.

Both of these aspects lead to the third goal. While on vacation I read The Happiness Project. It might not be for everyone, but I loved Eat Pray Love and this seems to be a more practical alternative. The author focuses on how she can cultivate more happiness in her own life, focusing on a main goal or resolution for each month – like energy, attitude, family. I haven’t quite decided what my focus will be in a given month, but Juneathon will certainly set the stage for the month of June.

So really, this blog is my attempt to figure out and, perhaps more importantly, enjoy life after twenty years of schooling. Let’s hope I don’t lose interest in that.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

