Cheese is the new comfort food

For some reason I’ve really been craving caprese foods (and I’d be lying if I said it had nothing to do with all the melted mozzarella cheese. Comfort food at it’s finest!). It felt like I should actually cook something, so I opted for a caprese chicken recipe.

I did cut some of the recipe in half, only using two chicken breasts instead of four. Since I like flavor, I used the amount of garlic and tomatoes listed in the recipe. I’d also added Italian seasoning and diced onion to the chicken, not just the salt and pepper. I’m also a huge proponent of using fresh basil. While I have the dried seasoning, the flavor just doesn’t pop as much. Added bonus that fresh basil was on sale this week. 

I’ve got to say, it felt good to finally make a full meal. Not just a side dish for a potluck or casserole or crock-pot recipe, which has been my go-to lately, but a legit meal. And the fact that it was amazing was the cherry on top. Just look at all the cheese! The splash of balsamic vinegar at the end really added flavor to it as well.

Caprese chicken

I almost paired it with pasta, but I have a feeling I’m going to be eating a lot of that in the next two weeks as I pack up my entire life (legit cooking is going to be few and far between and yet that still doesn’t seem to stop me from trying to find new recipes on pinterest…). I may have to make this one again, though, just because it hit the spot. With all the random recipes I try, it’s always rewarding to find ones that make it into my monthly rotation of meals. 

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Cheese is the new comfort food

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 187 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

