Slowly but surely

I’m officially a convert! Well, at least I think I might be.

It was high time for me to get back to cooking, and after Lindsay raved about a great a turkey meatloaf recipe she tried last weekend, I knew I had to give it a shot. The few times I’ve made meatloaf it’s been pretty traditional (minus the fact that I generally cook it in muffin tins to make sure it’s thoroughly cooked and there’s set portion sizes), so I was nervous about using ground turkey and lots of minced onions instead of the onion soup mix that most recipes use. But I never back down from a unique cooking opportunity.

The end product definitely wasn’t quite like a traditional meatloaf. With all the Italian seasons, it almost felt like I could have paired it with pasta. But, it was fun a fun twist on a staple meal. I will admit I didn’t use the peppers the recipe called for since it was impressive enough that I was going to use onions. I also didn’t use as much of the ketchup topping since I’ve never been a huge fan of it (plus it didn’t seem healthy, and given that I’m about to spend five days at home, I need to pace myself).

While the meatloaf was a pleasant surprise, what really carried the meal was my side dish. I’m not sure how healthy it is, but I absolutely loved the toasted orzo with peas. The prep was actually a lot like making rice-a-roni (which I was sadly an expert at in college…). I was nervous given the amount of onion, but a quick taste to see if the noodles were done had me floored. It was so packed with flavor between the onions, garlic and chicken broth that I could have just eaten it as it was.

Knowing my love for color and vegetables, though, I had to throw in the extra ingredients. In addition to the green peas, I also put in some mushrooms I had on hand. While I also put in the parmesan cheese (although not as much as the recipe called for), the dish almost could have gone without it. And for a girl who loves cheese, that’s really saying something!

I won’t lie – I’m a little bummed at the lack of color, but I loved all the flavors. And who knew I would have enjoyed the onions so much?! Dare I say I actually like them now?

Overall it was another successful venture in the kitchen! Given I haven’t cooked an actual meal in about two weeks, it was definitely needed, too.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 168 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

